Skip to Main Content

St. David CSS Learning Commons: History

History Resources

Using the GALE Databases For Research

Using the GALE databases for research 

  1. Select a GALE database - Enter your search term or click . Each topic will include quick facts and resources including Reference, Academic Journals, Biographies, Primary Sources, Websites, Videos, Audio, Images ... and Related Topics which will help expand your search.
  2. Topic Finder - Unsure what you would like to search for or you would like a visual representation of the topic, then start with a high level term such as French Revolution then click on . You can then select to see your results in one of the option for Visualization as Tiles   or Wheel. Selecting a tile or a wedge of the wheel narrows your original search results to the documents also containing that subject or term.
  3. Save resources as you find them - click on GET LINK and Copy the link into your document. This is a permanent link to get back to the page whether it is your search or a specific article. Do not use the URL at the top of the webpage which just the URL for the page at that moment and you cannot use it to get back to this page.
  4. CITE your sources - click on Cite and Citation Tools will be displayed. Select the style requested in your requirements document for your assignment such as MLA 9th Edition or Chicago 17th Edition then copy the citation to your paper making sure to maintain the hanging indent on the second line. You also have the option to Export to your preferred citation tool such as EasyBib, download to Google Drive or OneDrive or Download RIS to use with EndNote, ProCite ...
  5. Highlights and Notes - select text in an article  and a Notes text box will pop up allowing you to add a note about what you highlighted. Add your note and click save. Add additional notes to articles then click on Highlights And Notes in the upper right corner. This will display all the notes for this article. Click on View All Highlights and Notes and a  document with all the notes you added will be displayed. Note the "Save Warning: Make sure you download or send Highlights & Notes to yourself before exiting the product. Contents here will be lost after you close your browser." and note the Format is MLA9. If that is not your required format then make sure you record you citation as outlined in Step 4 above.

Grade 10 History

Books in the St. David LLC

Search for books in the St. David PAC using the a search term such as: 

World War 1939-1945 Canada 

Narrow your results by selecting Filters such as:

  • Format -> Book - narrows your search to physical books in our library
  • Collection -> Nonfiction - narrows your search to books containing factual information based on research or expertise
  • Subject -> narrow your search further by selecting from the available subjects such as Canada, Campaigns, Biography etc.

Broaden your search by removing Filters or using fewer words in your search term for example World War

 

Websites and Online Books

Publications available on Government of Canada website, Browse publications, basic search for "World war 1939-1945" 

list of publications including this book 

Normandy 1944 : the Canadian summer / Bill McAndrew, Donald E. Graves, Michael Whitby. 

"This book commemorates the fiftieth anniversary of Canadian participation in Operation Overlord, the Allied assault on occupied France. This operation was one of the greatest Allied achievements of the Second World War. Canadians were involved in almost every aspect of this massive undertaking and played a significant part in its success. ..."--Preface, page [11].

Grade 11

Grade 12

Select from the resources listed on the left or select the tab for your topic for a list of more specific recommendations

 

  1. Browse Topics and click on French Revolution or Napoleon I, Emperor of France or Napoleonic Wars. Results will include quick facts and resources including Reference, Academic Journals, Biographies, Primary Sources, Websites, Videos, Audio, Images ... and Related Topics which will help expand your search.
  2. Topic Finder offers a Visualization of your results in Tiles or a Wheel. Select a tile or a wedge of the wheel to narrow your topic and display results.
  3. Use GET LINK and Copy to save the link for your search results or articles. Do not use the URL at the top of the webpage.
  4. CITE your resources by clicking on Cite  and selecting Citation Tools or Citation Style such as  MLA, APA or Chicago
  5. Highlighting and add notes and save your notes before you close your browser.

For more detailed instructions, use the detailed instructions on the left "Using the GALE Databases For Research."

GALE eBooks

Search the Gale eBooks for people and events from the French Revolution. Recommended eBooks:

 Select SEARCH WITHIN PUBLICATION and within this volume and enter your search term.

Websites and Sources of Primary Documents and Artifact Images

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution 

"..this site provides a series of essays and links to external resources that cover all the main developments from 1787-1815. Alongside summaries of the revolution's major periods, the essays also include more in-depth explorations of subjects ranging from women’s history to the complicated relationship between revolutionary ideals and slavery that was practiced in the French colonies." https://revolution.chnm.org

World History Encyclopedia - French Revolution 

https://www.worldhistory.org/French_Revolution/

The Age of Revolution - Making the World Over - French Revolution 

This page is specific to the French Revolution and includes related artifacts Note: includes content from the later French revolutions of 1830 and 1848 and other Political Revolutions https://ageofrevolution.org/themes/political-revolution/french-revolution/

Versailles at the Heart of the French Revolution 1789

"The French Revolution did not just happen in one day. The whole period, which really began in 1789, was one of profound political, social and economic upheaval in France. The Palace of Versailles found itself right in the middle of all this change and, today, the museum’s collections bear traces of this key episode in France’s history." https://en.chateauversailles.fr/discover/history/key-dates/versailles-heart-french-revolution#the-context

Search For Books

Search for books and more in the St. David PAC

 

Search for eBook, audiobooks and magazines in Sora by OverDrive - WCDSB Digital Library 

A digital reading app for students and educators. 24/7 access to eBooks, audiobooks and magazines for learning and for fun!