Skip to Main Content

St. David CSS Learning Commons: Religion

Speak to your librarian Ms. Gallipeau for password to access resources outside of St David high school.

Religion Resources

   Searching for Books in the St. David PAC (Public Access Catalogue).

    Enter your search term for example Pollution then use the drop down menus to narrow your search by clicking on: 

  • Format --> Book
  • Collection -->Nonfiction
  • Check for Available (Checked In) and record the call number(s), for example Shelf Location 628.1 KAL (tall nonfiction shelves)

Catholic Resources

Grade 9

1) Search for Books in the St. David PAC (Public Access Catalogue) 

2) Search for Background Information 

  • Britannica School 
    • ARTICLE - read articles to gather information - includes citations
    • GALLERY - locate images related to the topic - includes citations
    • RELATED - Web's Best Sites and Primary Sources & E-Books

 

1) Search for Books in the St. David PAC (Public Access Catalogue) 

2) Search for Background Information using

    • ARTICLE - read articles to gather information - includes citations
    • GALLERY - locate images related to the topic - includes citations
    • RELATED - Web's Best Sites and Primary Sources & E-Books
  •  
    • View the collection of GALE EBOOKS and select a book or enter your search term and click on the link to your topic to drill down in the book and jump to that topic

3) Search For Your Topic using these GALE Databases and Topic Finder

  • GALE In Context Global Issues or Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints   
    • Select from the suggested Issues of Interest, Browse Issues or click on Browse All for a full list of Issues
    • Results will include quick facts and resources including Reference, Academic Journals, Biographies, Primary Sources, Websites, Videos, Audio, Images ... and Related Topics which will help expand your search.
  • Topic Finder offers a Visualization of your results. 
    • After you search for you topic, click on Topic Finder pie chart icon and your results will display in Tiles  or a Wheel . Click on a tile or a wedge of the wheel to narrow your topic and display your new results.
  • GALE Power Search allows you to search several databases at once. Select database(s) from the list and enter your search term(s). For example homelessness. When you start entering homeless the dropdown list will suggest search terms such as homeless people, homeless shelter, homeless youth... Select one these terms or continuing enter your search term such as homelessness.
    • Results will include Academic Journals, News, Images, Videos and more
      • To narrow results select Academic Journals
        • Narrow your results further using FILTER YOUR RESULTS and selecting 
          • Subjects - list subjects and how many articles are available on that subject
          • Document Type - types of documents on the subject Article, Overview or Biography...
          • Publication Date - enter a date range or select Past Year
    • Select an article to read and be sure to use tool including:
      • GET LINK - Copy the link to save the link to your search results or articles. Do not use the URL at the top of the webpage. It is only a link to the article for that moment and it is never your citation. Use the Cite tool. 
      • CITE - Click the " Cite tool and selecting a Citation Style such as  MLA, APA or export to a Citation Tool
      • Highlighting And Notes - Highlight text and add a note about the highlighted text. Notes will be temporarily saved to a Highlights and Notes document. Download or Send To your Highlights & Notes before exiting the product. Contents will be lost after you close your browser.

Grade 10

Grade 11

  • Search for Books and online books in the St. David PAC (Public Access Catalogue) 
  • Click on Sora and search for online books and audiobooks. For example Passover : festival of freedom  
  • Search for Background Information using 
    •  includes:
      • ARTICLE - read articles to gather information. Includes the citation
      • GALLERY - locate images related to the topic. Includes the citation
      • RELATED - Web's Best Sites and Primary Sources & E-Books
    • Select High School then enter your Ritual or Festival in the Explore dialog box
      • for example, type in Passover and press enter and the Search Results will display results including Passover (Judaism) with content for Articles, Images, Videos and More
  • Search Recommended Websites:

                                     photo of sisters staring at a lit hanukkah menorah

Search Your Topic

Search your topic in the Gale Research databases and the  EBSCO Explora for Secondary Schools databases then narrow results by selecting Subject and Document Type under Filter Your Results on the Results page (e.g. Topic Overview or Biography). Use the citation tools included in each database to copy/paste the citation information to your reference page. Type TOPIC FINDER to discover topics and results related to your search visualized as Tiles or in a Wheel then narrow your results by clicking on the tile or wedge of the wheel.

Search for Books in the St. David PAC (Public Access Catalogue). Use the drop down menus to narrow your search by clicking on Format and selecting Book and by clicking on Collection to select Nonfiction.

A cart of books on the topics listed for the ISU essay will be available for use in the library by all three classes. Ask the librarian for help finding a book and to place a Hold on a book which you can sign out later in the semester when all the classes have been to the library. 

Chronological order of specific religions in Dewey Decimal numbers at OCLC.org.

 

Grade 12

Staff