St. David CSS Learning Commons: English

Databases

Narrow results by subject and document type (e.g. Topic Overview or Biography). Use the citation tools included in each database to copy/paste  citation information to your reference page.

Recommended Websites:

Note: resources with  link opens in a new window and passwords are required outside of the school. Please see Ms. Gallipeau for the password.

Africans in Nova Scotia

• African Nova Scotians - Nova Scotia Archives Archives.novascotia.ca

• Africville - TheCanadianEncyclopedia.ca

• Freetown, Sierra Leone (1792- ) - BlackPast.org

• Thomas Peters, founding citizen of Freetown - TheCanadianEncyclopedia.ca

• Virtual Tour - Government of Nova Scotia nsheritage3d.ca

Black Loyalists in Canada

• African Nova Scotians in the Age of Slavery and Abolition: Black Loyalists, 1783-1792 - Nova Scotia Archives

• Black Loyalists in British North America - Canadian Encyclopedia

  Shelburne Race Riots - Canadian Encyclopedia

Colonialism

• Colonialism - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

• Western colonialism - Britannica School 

Common Schools Act

• Racial Segregation of Black Students in Canadian Schools - Canadian Encyclopedia

Slave Trade

• Business of the Trade - National Museum of African American History and Culture

• Life & Work for Enslaved People - National Museum of African American History and Culture

• "Slavery and Indentured Servitude" - Immigration and Migration  

• 1514–1866, Transatlantic Slave Trade - National Museum of African American History and Culture

South Africa

• Apartheid - Britannica School 

United States - Jim Crow and the Civil Rights Movement

• (1866) Jim Crow Laws: Tennessee, 1866-1955 - BlackPast

• Black Code and Jim Crow Laws - National Geographic Education

• 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre - Tulsa Historical Society & Museum

• Black Wall Street and the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre Pictorial Exhibit - Greenwood Cultural Centre

Books in the St. David Learning Commons -  Search the PAC:

• Africa's Children : a History of Blacks in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia (2009) 971.631 ROB

• Series: Amazing Women In Canada

  • Viola Desmond (2021) 971.60049 DES-N

  • Mary Ann Shadd (2021) 305.48896 SHA-S

• Series: Black History in Canada:

  • Enslaved People in Canada (2020) 306.36209 KEN

  • Famous Black Canadians (2020) 971.00496 HEI

  • The Revolution and the Black Loyalists (2020) 971.024 KEN

  • The Underground Railroad (2020) 971.00496 SEI

• The Queen's Bush Settlement : Black pioneers, 1839-1865 (2004) 971.3 BRO

• The Refugee, or, The Narratives of Fugitive Slaves in Canada (2000) 973.7115 DRE

• Trailblazers : the Black Pioneers Who Have Shaped Canada (2020) 971.00496 RID

• Understanding Jim Crow : using racist memorabilia to teach tolerance and promote social justice (2015) 323.1196 PIL

• Unsettling the Great White North : Black Canadian History (2022) 971.00496 UNS