St. David CSS Learning Commons: First Nations, Métis, and Inuit (FNMI) Subject Guide

• Indigenous Peoples Collection - The Canadian Encyclopedia

   Searching for Books in the St. David PAC (Public Access Catalogue).

    Enter your search term for example Indigenous symbols then use the drop down menus to narrow your search by clicking on: 

• Format --> Book
• Collection -->Nonfiction
• Check for Available (Checked In) and record the call number(s), for example Shelf Location 704.0397 NIC (tall nonfiction shelves)

Organizations

• Anishnabeg Outreach
• The Healing of The Seven Generations

• O:se Kenhionhata:tie Land Back Camp

• Waterloo Indigenous Student Centre (WISC)

• Wanuskewin, the nēhiyawēwin (Plains Cree)  Cultural Centre - Northern Plains Indigenous peoples

• Woodland Cultural Centre - Indigenous people of the Great Lakes regio

Museums and Collections

• Explore our Collections - Museum of Archeology, University of British Columbia

  Choose "Places" >> "North America" for Indigenous artifacts from Turtle Island

• Indigenous Voices - Royal Ontario Museum

• Inuit Cultural Online Resource

• Museum of Ontario Archaeology

• ROM Collections: Indigenous Peoples of North America - Royal Ontario Museum

• The Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture

• Search the Collection: National Art Gallery of Canada

  Under filters, choose "Category" >> "Indigenous Art" or search for a specific artist

Government Websites

• A-Z Tools and Guides - Library and Archives Canada

  Under "Filter options" choose "Topic" >> "Indigenous History"

• Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

• Indigenous Services Canada

• Ontario Ministry of Indigenous Affairs

• Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture - Gabriel Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Applied Research